Author Topic: Which way to instant?  (Read 3223 times)

Andrej K

• Sheet Film
    • Andrej Kutarna Photography
Which way to instant?
« on: July 11, 2012, 07:25:23 AM »
Hi all,
for long time I've been wanting to try shooting polaroid and fuji instant films and you filmwasting folks are no help.  The problem is, I do not own a 5x4 camera (and don't think I want to make a major investment in this format, since those 5x7 negatives are so beautiful...

Anyway...

What would be the simplest (and cheapest) way to a camera that would allow me to shoot instant film? I hope I could be content with the smaller size (3.25 x 4.25" is it?) - in that case - what would be the simplest camera to use if I want to cover all the size? Some Polaroid Land Camera? Or is a 5x4 camera unavoidable even in this size of negative?

Forgive me these dumb questions, but I am completely new to shooting instant film, they seem to be quite rare round these parts...

Thank you for any suggestions!
« Last Edit: July 11, 2012, 08:41:05 AM by Andrej K »
Website of sorts, as well as ipernity thing.

Chalky

• Sheet Film
    • Instant surf
Re: Which way to instant?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2012, 08:40:43 AM »
Hi...

I know very little about this... but you may be better sticking with the smaller peel apart format or the new impossible project films, as I 'think' that all 4x5 instant film is now discontinued...

although the new55 project are working on a black and white peel apart 4x5, but it is not ready yet...

I am sure others will jump in with camera advice

sorry for slightly negative first reply to the thread...

good luck!

Andrej K

• Sheet Film
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2012, 08:42:30 AM »
Thank you for your reply - I did some quick research, found the same and modified the question to the smaller peel apart sizes hoping that I will be quicker than anyone would answer.. I am sorry..

Chalky

• Sheet Film
    • Instant surf
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2012, 10:43:07 AM »