Author Topic: Instax mini film back for Rolleiflex SL66 - INP and I'm stuck!!!  (Read 7338 times)

aikoman

• 35mm
    • aikoman's T* story
Instax mini film back for Rolleiflex SL66 - INP and I'm stuck!!!
« on: February 24, 2012, 07:18:30 AM »
Hi film lovers,

As I promised, I've started to make a 'proper' Instax mini film back for Rollei SL66...
Started with simple, mock up version... I've realised that this one with thick hardboard much harder than carving wooden piece...

Please see the photo I've done so far...
Well... it's not even INP... I'm totally screwed up with it!
The main problem is, there should be a tongue thingy at the bottom of the film back to push the Instax film towards the hole to touch the roller so that it can be rolled out to developing chemical spread through whole medium.

However, I'm not a mechanic or engineering to make things like that...

Luckily enough, I've measured the distance between the film medium to the film back surface to enable better focusing... (professionals say it's flange distance... lol)

If anyone who has idea what to do with this, please comment. Any comment will be valuable and it could be a future reference to make another film backs such as Hassy, Mamiya, or even Bronica.

This project will give us beautiful, almost full-frame 6x4.5 instant image with full manual operations which is awesome!!!!

I will look around any construction sites to get some rigid wooden pieces for next step :D

aikoman

• 35mm
    • aikoman's T* story
Re: Instax mini film back for Rolleiflex SL66 - INP and I'm stuck!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 08:00:31 AM »
Here are more samples before I've decided to make the Instax mini film back.

IMG_0001.jpg has done @ f22 15s and IMG-2.jpg has done @ f16 2mins
Compared to the light meter reading @ ISO 800, I can see that the film requires 3~4 stops longer to get a proper shot for night photography.