Author Topic: I'm Getting Angry  (Read 8218 times)

Ed Wenn

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
  • Slowly getting back into it. Sometimes.
I'm Getting Angry
« on: August 27, 2011, 10:36:56 AM »
I've been monitoring prices of expired film on evilBay for a few months now and am constantly amazed by how much people are trying to sell expired, bargain bucket stuff for compared to the prices that real dealers sell film off for at photo fairs (like Photographica).

At Photographica we had Silverprint selling packs of 35mm APX for £1, and other dealers were marking all their film at £1.50 a roll (max).

Compare that to this pretty typical listing, where someone's trying to sell a roll of Tri-X from 1987 for £6.99 + £1.99 shipping!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160642264518&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:GB:1123

Every so often I watch an item which I think is priced too high and they nearly never sell....and in pretty much every case you'll find a vendor like 7 Day Shop is selling brand new, in-date stock of the same, or similar film for less money than the idiots on eBay are charging for their knackered old stuff. The Fujifilm 100 instant film is a classic case of this. I've not seen anyone on eBay selling their expired FP100-C for less than 7 Day have it brand new...and now that 7 Day have reduced their prices even further for their short-dated stock the eBay prices are looking even more ridiculous.

eBay? Good for cameras. Rubbish for film.

Me, I'm off to a Boot Fair tomorrow morning in search of some proper cheap film  ;)

This-is-damion

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
    • Damion Rice
Re: I'm Getting Angry
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 11:02:38 AM »
does this mean the next Big Ray album will sound more like SSD?

moominsean

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
  • Living in camera shadows.
    • moominstuff
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 11:14:43 AM »
People seem to think that old = valuable, regardless of what it is actually worth.