Author Topic: Faces of the North - Ragnar Axelsson  (Read 12201 times)

Karl

• Sheet Film
    • Photographic Works
Faces of the North - Ragnar Axelsson
« on: May 09, 2011, 10:37:37 PM »
Gutted, but I live in hope. I turned on the tv to find I'd missed 45 minutes of a 1 hour documentary about one of my favourite photographers, Ragnar Axelsson. I was put on to his work by Ailsa, who reviwed his book, a good few years ago when she was at B&W Photography Magazine. It was on BBC4 so I'm hoping for a repeat or iplayer!

If you get a chance to watch it then do, his pictures are  really amazing.
"Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils." Louis Hector Berlioz

http://www.adayindecember.wordpress.com

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Re: Faces of the North - Ragnar Axelsson
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 10:52:16 PM »
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 10:54:22 PM by Peter R »
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Karl

• Sheet Film
    • Photographic Works
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 10:52:17 AM »
thanks Peter, I can look forward to seeing the whole thing. While he was using some very expensive digital cameras (including what looked like a Hasselblad H series while getting hit by waves while standing in the sea!) a lot of the photos were taken on film using a Leica.
"Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils." Louis Hector Berlioz

Heather

• Sheet Film
    • Stargazy Photography
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 01:11:40 PM »
Watched part of this last night. Really amazingly beautiful work. I've not been in utter awe of photos in a long time so it was very enjoyable for me :)
Heather
ooh shiny things!
http://www.stargazy.org/

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2011, 01:28:11 PM »