Author Topic: Total Newbie Developer Queries  (Read 7465 times)

p4portra

• 35mm
Total Newbie Developer Queries
« on: September 25, 2014, 11:05:02 PM »
I am interested in learning to develop HP5.

Is someone able to recommend a setup that would allow me to develop and scan my own films? I am not interested in enlarging/printing at this stage.

I would rather not compromise on quality, but would be good to understand what the options are at each of the following levels:

1. Just get the job done, compromised quality
2. Get the job done, good results with practise but not necessarily fast
3. All the gear, no idea!

Indofunk

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
    • photog & music
Re: Total Newbie Developer Queries
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 11:55:26 PM »
I have perhaps the least developing experience here, so I'm going to go ahead and qualify myself to be the first person to reply :D

Glad you're starting with B&W. Very little need to temperature-control it. A friend of mine dived right into C41 and hit it out of the park right away, that would've scared me if I hadn't had B&W experience first.

So you're gonna need a Paterson tank with a reel (they come with 2), and a changing bag to load up the film. Then you'll need a couple of graduated pitchers to mix up the chemicals, then the chemicals themselves. Developer, stop bath, fixer. You got lots of choices for developer, everyone has their favorites, I've tried D76, Rodinal, and HC110 and settled on HC110. Look up a bunch of HP5 photos on Flickr, find out what developer was used, choose your favorite. Or just get Rodinal, because it will develop anything (I'm gonna copyright that phrase one of these days ;) ). Then finally get a couple of jugs to store the stop and fix in, since they can be reused. I got all of my equipment from http://freestylephoto.biz