Author Topic: I wish someone told me  (Read 1919 times)

Jack Johnson

• Sheet Film
    • Me on Flickr
I wish someone told me
« on: July 31, 2011, 05:13:24 AM »
Attributed to Ira Glass:

Let me just say, I hope the hell so.

I'm new to the forum (hi!), and probably daily I struggle with why I continue with photography, other than the love of the pastime. I don't know who I am as a photographer, I don't know what I want from it or where I'm headed, I haven't done anything I'm really proud of in like three years, and I certainly don't have anything thematic going on in my work.

Sometimes I work on certain aspects, sometimes I try to replicate certain aspects of other work I envy, but mostly I flounder. But I love it, I love seeing all your work, and here I am, hoping I won't be a total embarrassment to myself by 60.

In the interim, the lot o' you inspire me. Seriously. And I'll keep working on it, Ira, you bastard.

Jack Johnson

• Sheet Film
    • Me on Flickr
Re: I wish someone told me
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 05:42:32 AM »
I always like finding the original source. Audio transcript here: http://public.youtranscript.com/zs/864.html

Lino

• flickr
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 06:18:13 AM »
I guess it's ok that I still suck then? i'll just keep on shooting.

:)

Mojave

• Self-Coat
    • Erin McGuire Photography
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2011, 07:28:13 AM »
Hello and Welcome Jack!!! I think everybody is nervous to post here the first few times. I know I was. Still get nervous sometimes.  :-[ Just post away. Cant wait to see your work.
mojave

Jack Johnson

• Sheet Film
    • Me on Flickr
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2011, 08:41:00 AM »
Thanks, Mojave!

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue?