Author Topic: Anyone used the cyanotype rex process?  (Read 6500 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Anyone used the cyanotype rex process?
« on: October 18, 2008, 05:37:42 PM »
I'd be interested in any comments if you have. I was thinking of trying it as it, allegedly, gives images which are easier to tone.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

CarlRadford

• Sheet Film
    • Carls Gallery
Re: Anyone used the cyanotype rex process?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 07:58:08 PM »
I'd be interested in any comments if you have. I was thinking of trying it as it, allegedly, gives images which are easier to tone.

I've never used used and get pretty good toned cyanotypes with the traditional recipe. John Brewer, pretty darn good with the stuff, uses traditional too and produces some of the best I've ever seen. What recipes have you tried so far far?

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2008, 10:40:29 PM »
What recipes have you tried so far far?

I've only used the Mike Ware version so far and tried a bit of toning in tea but without much success.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Heather

• Sheet Film
    • Stargazy Photography
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2008, 01:16:52 AM »
Sort of.
But.
One thing you might want to hear is that the Tannin/Tannic Acid toned mike ware formula cyanotypes apparently are very ... um not long lasting. I was talking to the guy who runs the Siderotype Gallery in Brighton about them and he seemed to suggest the images toned in tannin disappeared within a few years.
I've found the blue in cyanotype rex (two part cyanotype) to be very weak and weedy in the few times I've tried it. But, to each their own, it does have a longer tonal range than traditional cyanotype by itself but not as nice as Mike Ware's stuff.