Author Topic: The Contraption 28: UV Exposure Box  (Read 338 times)

Francois

• Self-Coat
The Contraption 28: UV Exposure Box
« on: March 21, 2024, 08:58:12 PM »
This project started during the dark dull days of winter. I really wanted something new, exciting that I've never done before. I was bored and a bit depressed by the ever present dark clouds that covered the province. I suddenly got an idea! Making cyanotypes. There was something I had never really done before. But it posed a big problem; how do you do a UV based process when it's freezing and dull outside? Lets just say that taking a couple of days to expose just one negative didn't appeal to me. And not having control over the exposure didn't make sense to me either. So, it left me with only one option: make a UV light box.

So, like any good maker, I went online to see what others had done. While I loved the idea of using LED strips to generate the ultraviolet rays required for the process, there were a lot of things about what I saw that I didn't like. First, all the devices I saw were bulky to store. They all relied on an external timer to control the exposure. And when not in use, the LEDs were left exposed and could be damaged. So, how could I make this compact, clean and easy to store?