Author Topic: Cleaning old negatives  (Read 3051 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Cleaning old negatives
« on: December 28, 2007, 03:54:40 PM »
Has anyone suggestions on how to clean old negatives. I have some taken by my father I'm slowly sorting and scanning but some need cleaning. One in particular I would like to clean has most of the grime on the non-emulsion side so I assume it should be possible to clean but I've never tried before so would welcome any suggestions.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

seekingfocus

• Peel Apart
  • chronic reciprocity failure.
    • Reciprocity Images
Re: Cleaning old negatives
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 04:32:06 PM »
I believe you can just re-wash, then soak in photo-flo or something similar for a couple minutes and dry as normal.

-Jason

Francois

• Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 09:05:26 PM »
If you want to go the commercial route, Edwal makes a tiny bottle of negative cleaner. It's supposed to be the safest thing. You use it with a cotton ball to wipe the grime off the negative.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 09:31:19 PM »
I've seen the Edwal and there's also Pec-12. From what I've found out so far, the Edwal is mainly Isopropyl alchohol and I've already tried that (I use it in my job). I don't know what the pec-12 consistes of but I've seen one reference that says it is only recommended for modern, hardened films. The films I want to clean are 50+ years old and I've no idea what sort of stock it is (no markings at all) or how it was processed.

I've also found information which says you shouldn't use any water based products, or try washing the films, as, with old films, the emulsion may come away. Don't know how true that is but I'm reluctant to try.