Author Topic: On the Pull.... Kodak tri-x 400 at 50?!  (Read 3755 times)

Thom Stone

• Peel Apart
    • With The Cold
On the Pull.... Kodak tri-x 400 at 50?!
« on: August 24, 2011, 06:45:41 PM »
Hey y'all, just got back from a trip to uncle monty's cottage in the lakes. thankfully the "terrible c**t" didnt break in in the middle of the night :-P

anyway I ordered a load of kodak tri-x 400 120 for my mamiya as I have never tried it before. I shot one roll at 100 *there are times for that in rodinal on massive dev chart* but I also shot a roll at 50.

just a few questions about how forgiving this film is pulled that far if anyone could give me some ideas on the best dillution and dev times in rodinal. Im guessing around 5 mins at 1+50 but im not familiar with this film so wouldnt want to guess.

also shot some new portra 400 at 50 and some old portra 160nc at 50 (i know i have problems... WHY NOT SHOOT AT BOX SPEED, you seem to say) I like slow film so I can wang my lovely lens wide open as I am a shallow DOF NUT! Also as the rest were landscapes I quite fancied doing some slightly longer exposures at f32 than I normally would in the daytime (im a landscape novice and was just experimenting really). anyway sorry if this is covered elsewhere on the net. sometimes its just nice to have some real life filmwasters to ask + maybe even see some results.

**DISCLAIMER** I didnt actually stay in Uncle monty's cottage from withnail and I, it was my sisters Fiance's great uncles place.... we have our suspisions of him though, dont even get me started on the "adventures of the black cock" section of the photo album we found.....
« Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 06:47:57 PM by thom_stone »

Francois

• Self-Coat
Re: On the Pull.... Kodak tri-x 400 at 50?!
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011, 09:18:13 PM »
Hopefully, you're talking about poultry...
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

LT

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2011, 09:19:38 PM »