Author Topic: Getting Closer  (Read 2090 times)

beck

• Sheet Film
  • Wet Blanket
    • rebecca pendel photography
Getting Closer
« on: July 20, 2008, 05:11:42 PM »
I want to try and do some close-up work with my ColorPack III. I have never done these before with any camera...while I did make an attempt here and there with other cameras, guess work mainly and distance...they were not to my liking. So I have this kit, as pictured, and tried to determine distance with the lights out and a candle. The filter is a tad bit smaller than the Colopack's wide lens, but nothing too terrible. But, I imagine there will be a slight vignette considering. That's fine. So I set the camera and candle apart and focused in on the flame. I could see it, barely, well, some, and the approximant range, using the #3 filter, at, 9 1/2 inches. Give or take. The max. field on the filter reads, 7 x 9 1/4. I am not sure this kit is even compatible with this model.

What do you guys think. Sound right? Might work? I could use a tip or two. I just loaded it with more 665 and want to try.

Thanks...

[Sorry, image deleted during forum software upgrade. Please re-upload if so inclined.]
Retired Renegade Plastic Film Liberator Super Heroine

moominsean

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
  • Living in camera shadows.
    • moominstuff
Re: Getting Closer
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2008, 01:58:21 AM »
i have the same kit...it's for the old roll film cameras, like my 150. doesn't fit on the colorpacks. i'd imaging you would have a problem getting an image because they don't attach to the front, so the distance from the lens isn't correct if you tape it on.
as far as i've found, they never made filters for the hardcases. there are filters available for the folding cameras (model 100, etc.).

i've got a 180 now, i want to pick up a close-up filter set for it...
"A world without Polaroid is a terrible place."
                                                                  - John Waters

beck

• Sheet Film