Author Topic: Kodak Alaris acquired by private equity firm  (Read 1061 times)

Bryan

• Self-Coat
    • Flickr
Kodak Alaris acquired by private equity firm
« on: August 02, 2024, 11:35:27 PM »
I don't know what this means for the distribution of Kodak film, I hope it's not bad news.  They always paint a rosy picture when they make a deal like this.   Kodak Alaris only distributes Kodak still film, Kodak makes all the film and distributes motion picture film.  Alaris was spun off as part of the bankruptcy settlement with the United Kingdom Pension Protection Fund.

https://rbj.net/2024/08/02/kodak-alaris-acquired-by-calif-based-private-equity-firm/

EarlJam

• Sheet Film
Re: Kodak Alaris acquired by private equity firm
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2024, 01:01:07 AM »
Kingswood has, shall we say, an eclectic portfolio of companies, none of them remotely related to photography. It's not one of the VC/PE companies that I watched when I worked in the commercial audio-visual industry, but their holdings and investment strategy don't give me much of an expectation that they'll know how to run the company, or keep existing and add new customers. I'm more than willing to be wrong on this and kind of hope they prove me wrong.

https://www.kingswood-capital.com/portfolio/
« Last Edit: August 03, 2024, 01:14:18 PM by EarlJam »

Francois

• Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2024, 03:59:04 PM »
For some odd reason, it feels like pretty much anything related to Kodak is a bit of a hot potato financially, especially Alaris.
As far as I know, the sale is probably just going to end-up with a bunch of lay-offs in an attempt to bring the company back to better profitability... only to end up being put for sale once again.
But I just hope it won't be the case this time as I just wish more good news come from this in the future.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

EarlJam

• Sheet Film
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2024, 04:28:24 PM »