Author Topic: Found this in a bin  (Read 1386 times)

thil

• 35mm PHOTO bureau
Found this in a bin
« on: November 21, 2014, 08:27:12 PM »
My work place is relocating and we had a massive clear-up. I was gobsmacked to find this practically unused Polaroid Gelcam in the WEEE (Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment) bin from the molecular biology lab. I've been working there since 2006 and never knew this was hidden in a drawer quite literally under my nose all that time.
The question is what to do with it. My initial thoughts were to refit the lens on a Land Camera and make a hacked "180". I could of course use it as a fixed focus (30cm) portrait camera but without a viewfinder that is not ideal. Any suggestions?

Francois

• Self-Coat
Re: Found this in a bin
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 10:23:24 PM »
This was probably a macro camera.
I had experience with something similar and I discovered that for infinity focus the lens needed to almost touch the film. Also, it didn't cover the entire film.

I guess you'd have to experiment with it a bit to see what it can do like it is. It might be worth keeping in its lens mount. Maybe add feet at the proper focusing distance to make it foolproof... the type of just lay the camera down and press the button type of thing.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

k.hendrik

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2014, 10:28:48 PM »
My work place is relocating and we had a massive clear-up. I was gobsmacked to find this practically unused Polaroid Gelcam in the WEEE (Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment) bin from the molecular biology lab. I've been working there since 2006 and never knew this was hidden in a drawer quite literally under my nose all that time.
The question is what to do with it. My initial thoughts were to refit the lens on a Land Camera and make a hacked "180". I could of course use it as a fixed focus (30cm) portrait camera but without a viewfinder that is not ideal. Any suggestions?