Author Topic: Clip Test mentioned by Francois... Anyone try it?  (Read 1006 times)

original_ann

• Self-Coat
Clip Test mentioned by Francois... Anyone try it?
« on: August 28, 2011, 11:57:12 PM »
Hi everyone,

I can't remember when I mixed up my fixer for the some odd reason.  So I thought I'd try out the clip test to make sure it's still good.  I've never tried it before (mentioned here: http://www.filmwasters.com/forum/index.php?topic=3540.msg36532#msg36532) and I'm beginning to wonder what I'm supposed to see?

I took an unexposed roll of film, pulled out some of the leader, cut and added a drop of my fixer. 
Waited 1 minute
Then put the entire leader into a jar of fixer enough to submerge the film clip
In no time I couldn't see where I'd put the one drop.  No problem, I'm still expecting some reaction to occur first on that eyedropper spot... but what exactly?
After 20 mins nothing changes to my eyes... does it become transparent? There's no change whatsoever... ;-p

mickld

Re: Clip Test mentioned by Francois... Anyone try it?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 03:10:34 AM »
I tried my first fixer test yesterday as well and went through the same phase of not quite knowing what to expect. I used some scraps from APX 100 for the tests. My problem was not understanding exactly what clearing means. In the end it means exactly that - the removal of the grey emulsion leaving a clear, see-through strip of plastic.

The problem was that APX base has quite a dark purple tint to it, compared to HP5, which I'm used to using. HP5 is pretty much clear & uncoloured. So when I dropped the APX clip into the fixer, it cleared very quickly. But because of the dark tint to the plastic it looked like it changed from grey to black which was the opposite to what I expected! It really confused me for a while, and I repeated it with fresh, undiluted fixer and was beginning to think the whole bottle had gone off overnight.