Author Topic: Push/Pull Film?  (Read 5492 times)

Steven.

• Peel Apart
Push/Pull Film?
« on: August 05, 2011, 02:31:48 AM »
Hey everyone! So about a couple months ago I started shooting 120 film and now I moved down to 35mm (weird order, right?) and was wondering about pushing/pulling film.

I know what pushing and pulling is, but how can I use it correctly?

For example, if I have some Ilford 3200 and pull it to 100, would that turn out really bad?
or on the other hand, if I had 125 speed film and pushed it to 1000 or something would that be okay?

I know pushing increases contrast (I think), but I could only find so much stuff on google.

Anyone care to share?  :)

Thanks in advance.

choppert

• Sheet Film
  • ChopperT
Re: Push/Pull Film?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 09:33:51 AM »
Hello

My simple understanding would be that pushing and pulling film a couple of stops would normally give OK results.  (100 up to 400, 3,200 down to 800)

Pulling a 3,200 ISO film to 100 would probably give some crazy results.  Contrast and all those sorts of things aside you'd probably have huge grain for a 100 ISO photo.  Give it a whirl and see, you might like the results.  One man's meat is another man's mustard.

Other FWs will be able to give more specific advice, though I imagine the underlying sentiment will be "have a go and let us know"

Chops
"Photography is about failure" - Garry Winogrand

DS

• Peel Apart
  • I don't look like my avatar
    • Waffle blag
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 01:19:22 PM »
Hi & welcome.