Author Topic: Canon FL50mm  (Read 1613 times)

cwilk

• Mostly Monochrome
Canon FL50mm
« on: October 27, 2008, 07:10:43 PM »
Can anyone helps me please?

I want to attached a Canon FFL 50mm lens to a EOS5.  I know I need something called a Bowyer ring.  Anyone know where you can buy these from in the UK?  Also, can this damage the camera at all?

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Re: Canon FL50mm
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2008, 08:39:35 PM »
I think what you mean is a Bower adapter. Bower is a US manufacturer (may be importer/wholesaler) of photo bits and pieces. Mostly cheap and cheerful I think.

The lens adapters don't have a good name as they have an optical element in them to correct the focus and the lens used, apparantly, ain't great (I've no personal experience). I used to use EOS gear myself and looked at adapting older lenses to fit them but I don't think it's possible to use FD or FL lenses on EOS cameras without using an adapter with some optics in it - and that rather defeats the object I think.

SRB does an FD to EOS adapter here but not an FL adapter that I can find. They do make adapters to order though but I guess cost would be high.

If you're just looking to use old manual lenses on your EOS, maybe better to look at old Pentax lenses with 42mm screw thread as they can be adapted to fit EOS without the need for any optics.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Francois

• Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2008, 09:44:26 PM »
I just found this
http://www.photoethnography.com/ClassicCameras/Lens-adapters.html

It says that Canon FD/FL has a 42mm registration distance.
Canon EF has a 44mm registration distance.
Since I figure the EOS probably has EF lenses, an optical adapter is needed.

I have the same problem with my Nikon (46.5mm registration) which makes lens hacking difficult.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

cwilk

• Mostly Monochrome