Author Topic: Cameras _What format do you use?  (Read 10730 times)

Janet_P

• Peel Apart
    • Janet Penny Photography
Cameras _What format do you use?
« on: March 16, 2006, 11:32:44 AM »
It was fascinating reading what size you all print at so I thought I'd follow it up with a question about film size.

Ive been using medium format in toy cameras for about 4 years now but I've just bought a quarter plate camera on Ebay that I'm excited to start using. I also need to find neg holders for a 9x12cm camera my dad dug out his loft for me. Looks like my neg sizes are just getting bigger and bigger...

How about you?

Janet

Tammy

• momentsofmine
Re: Cameras _What format do you use?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2006, 11:58:41 AM »
Hi Janet P.  Well, since I started that size thing, I can say it was a bit related to format as well.  Since, as I go bigger in negative, I'm tempted to go bigger in printing.  Even though I've seen wonderful 5x7 prints from a 4x5 negative.  :)

I have a lot of formats, from 35mm up to 8x10.  I mostly contact print the 4x5 and 8x10 (and I only have a few vintage lenses to play with).  I could enlarge 4x5 but I don't have an enlarger lens just yet.  I did get curious and had the lab make a very large print for me from one of the 4x5 negatives!  It cost me a fortune, but at least I could see what the negs were capable of one time, that way I could change my shooting or processing accordingly for when I want really big.

Lately, I've found that I am using medium format cameras (vintage and toy and otherwise) nearly exclusively, with a bit of 4x5 thrown in for fun.  I don't do anything seriously, and so it's all a learning thing for me. 

Janet_P

• Peel Apart
    • Janet Penny Photography
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2006, 12:24:36 PM »
Out of interest, Tammy, what kind of enlarger lens would you need to print your 5x4 and 10x8s? I'm hoping to do this myself in the future.

HolgaJen

• My Flickr Album
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2006, 04:33:45 PM »