Author Topic: Is this still useful...  (Read 788 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Is this still useful...
« on: May 16, 2023, 03:22:46 PM »
...or should I just bin it?

I got this in a job lot I just received. I've never been a polaroid user. Does film still exist that fits this? Anyone want it?

« Last Edit: May 16, 2023, 04:09:20 PM by Pete_R »
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Kai-san

• Self-Coat
Re: Is this still useful...
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2023, 06:57:04 PM »
As far as I know there is no Pola type film available in that format. I've got one of those already, I'll keep it in case something happens. Maybe it can be used for sheet film or direct positive paper?
Kai

If you want to change your photographs, you need to change cameras.

-- Nobuyoshi Araki

http://www.kaispage.net/

Francois

• Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2023, 09:16:16 PM »
Yeah, I got two of them gathering dust.
They were for Polaroid 4x5 sheet film. These were in individual paper envelopes with a thin metal strip on the end.
You might be able to get the film on that evil place, but I can almost guarantee it's going to be dead.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

EarlJam

• Peel Apart
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2023, 11:14:00 PM »
There appears to be a company that loads 4x5 B+W film stocks into suitable holders for the 545 back. I don't know if there's any practical reason to shoot 4x5 this way, but I guess it saves having to load normal film holders if you're only making a couple of exposures.

https://the-famous-large-small-format-photography-co.myshopify.com/products/1shot-ready-loaded-4x5-sheet-film

Bryan

• Self-Coat
    • Flickr
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2023, 08:24:30 AM »
A while back Bob Crowley was making New55 film that used those but they shut down in 2017.

http://new55.supersense.com/

https://www.sutori.com/en/story/the-history-of-new55-film--GWPRgBhUsbocq9YVapijhEKW