Author Topic: Do you presoak?  (Read 2104 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Do you presoak?
« on: April 02, 2022, 07:48:03 AM »
I was looking up a dev time on the Massive Dev Chart and it mentioned a presoak. This was for Fomapan 100. I never presoak. Looking around the net seems various people extol the benefits of it but they don't all agree on what those benefits are. So does anyone here do it and, if so, why?
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Kai-san

• Self-Coat
Re: Do you presoak?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2022, 12:42:12 PM »
I have made it a habit to presoak all films. Regarding Fomapan, if you presoak you will see that it gives off a stark yellow or green colour. I forget which Fomapan gives off which colour. I do not know what that green/yellow stuff is, possibly something that's added for easier mechanical handling of the film. There are probably someone on this forum who knows. Now for those who re-use their developer it will naturally become green or yellow, what other effects it could have I do not know. It's the same with Kodak T-Max films in 35mm format, it gives off a pink colour. If you do not presoak the T-Max, the base of the film will be pink when you are finished. Other benefits could be to prevent any bubbles sticking to the film in processing.
My rationale for presoaking is basically common sense; it might be beneficial and it surely will not do any damage.
Kai

If you want to change your photographs, you need to change cameras.

-- Nobuyoshi Araki

http://www.kaispage.net/

Francois

• Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2022, 02:08:09 PM »
The color that comes off is the anti halation layer.
Pre soaking has a few benefits. First, it swells up the gelatin so that developer gets absorbed more evenly.
Second is that it wets the film so that you can tap off the air bubbles.
And on color film it also gets the emulsion up to temperature ready for development.