Author Topic: Smena 8M help  (Read 997 times)

astrobeck

• Self-Coat
Smena 8M help
« on: January 24, 2022, 03:12:41 PM »
Hi!
Does anyone know how the top of the Smena 8M comes off?
I have one that was converted to pinhole, (not by me) and my friends dog's big waggy tail knocked it off the end table and now it wont' advance.
I think...by taking the top cover off I may be able to see what's going on or if something is broken.
There are two screws on the top plate, but I can't seem to figure ou how to get the rewind knob out of the way.

any ideas?
Thanks
Yes, I know I should just trash it, but....

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Re: Smena 8M help
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2022, 05:38:56 PM »
Have you put something in the fork and tried to unscrew it? That's how most rewind knobs come off.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Kai-san

• Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2022, 07:34:11 PM »
Found this on Flickr:

Unscrew the two visible screws on the top. (Keep track of which one goes where... there are three total screws and no two are the same.)

- Open the back panel as you would when loading film.

- Grab hold of the indented loading peg on the left (the one you set the new roll of film onto) so that it can't move.

- Pull up the rewind mechanism as you would when going to rewind film, but turn the top knob opposite to the usual direction (counter-clockwise). If you're gripping the peg tight enough, you should eventually feel the knob "give." It should unscrew right off.

- That done, you'll see the third screw revealed just in the shallow trench where the knob usually sets. Unscrew that and you can gingerly remove the whole upper housing.

Hope that helps.
Kai

If you want to change your photographs, you need to change cameras.

-- Nobuyoshi Araki

http://www.kaispage.net/

astrobeck

• Self-Coat
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2022, 09:04:28 PM »