Author Topic: Vivian Maier: Who Took Nanny's Pictures? on BBC1@22.35 tonight 25-June-2013  (Read 6073 times)

Amir

• 35mm
BBC1 Imagine  Vivian Maier: Who Took Nanny's Pictures?

I'm loving what I've seen of her work and looking forward to seeing this tonight.

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
I think I might have to watch this on BBCi as the tele is fully booked until the end of Wimbledon.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
Watched a bit iof it last night but fell asleep on the sofa.  Good job I recorded it - so I'll watch the rest later.  Looked exceptionally good from the bit I saw.
"An ounce of perception. A pound of obscure".

Photo_Utopia

• Sheet Film
  • The artist also known as Mark Antony
    • Photo Utopia
I propped my eyes open with match sticks and watched it. On the whole it was very well produced, even understated in some parts–Alan Yentob has quite a relaxed style.
What I really liked was the re-construction of her life, the friends in France, the trips alone abroad etc
I especially liked the part where they printed a whole roll and traced her movements, from dropping the children at school to going downtown on the train all documented and mapped as we moved through the roll of film.
You had a real sense of someone with a purpose; someone who needed to record life, yet paradoxically seemed to be a viewer who recorded but never showed the fruits of her labours.

No doubt she was an interesting person, her vision of the world as she saw it showed that. I felt some of the story although compelling a little sad.

If you can catch it on iPlayer I'd recommend it.
There's more to this photography thing than meets the eye.

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

gothamtomato

• Self-Coat