Author Topic: Rollei wetting agent  (Read 5005 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Rollei wetting agent
« on: May 17, 2008, 08:13:37 AM »
Bought some of this recently to try after Trevor Crone's recommendation in B&W. I bought it from Silverprint. I paid the same as Trevor did and the Silverprint part number was the same, but what I got wasn't what Trevor had. His was labelled 'SC' (super concentrate) which had a dilution of 1 to 999. Mine is labelled 'C' (concentrate) and has a dilution of 10 to 990. In other words, I got tens times less than Trevor for the same price. I'm pissed...

Haven't sorted this with Silverprint yet but thought I would post it in case anyone else happens to be buying it.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

david b

• Peel Apart
    • Stray Light Foto
Re: Rollei wetting agent
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 10:13:41 AM »
I didn't really understand that review - he never explained what the advantage was over cheaper and more common wetting agents like Ilford's Ilfotol.

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2008, 10:20:51 AM »
I didn't really understand that review - he never explained what the advantage was over cheaper and more common wetting agents like Ilford's Ilfotol.

True he didn't compare it with Ilfotol but he did with Mirasol. The main point that I think he made was that with the Rollei, in his hard water area, he got a better result i.e. no water marks. I have hard water as well and have always had problems getting clean negs so I thought it was worth trying.
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

david b

• Peel Apart
    • Stray Light Foto
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2008, 10:46:15 AM »
Fair enough - I've never suffered with water marks with Ilfotol, so I've never felt the need to try anything else.  In fact, I think I've been using the same bottle for 4 or 5 years now!