Author Topic: LF Film Question  (Read 4676 times)

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
LF Film Question
« on: October 10, 2011, 01:15:00 PM »
As a complete newbie to this format, I know the next few months (at least) are going to provide a fairly steep learning curve. Also, short of a miracle, they will also involve lots of trial and error with camera and film before I get the hang (or swing) of all the movements, focusing and exposure.

I've done a bit of research and packs of Ilford FP4+ and HP5+ seem damned expensive - though I love the 35mm and 120 versions. Kodak equivalents seem about the same price as Ilford. I can't find any Fuji 100 in 4x5 and the only other options seem to be Foma and Adox - which are relatively cheap at almost half the price of Ilford and Kodak.

My first question is this: Is it better to practice with Adox and/or Foma until I become completely familiar with the Wista workflow or should I "bite the bullet" now and go for Ilford (or Kodak) which I suspect will be a better product and what I will use over the long-term?

Second question: Is there anywhere I can see comparative results - particularly Adox 25 which sounds really interesting as I fancy doing some long exposure shots?

I'd be grateful for any advice . Thanks. Paul.

"An ounce of perception. A pound of obscure".

moominsean

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
  • Living in camera shadows.
    • moominstuff
Re: LF Film Question
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2011, 02:23:01 PM »
Yeah i bought some cheap shanghai film from ebay, was like three boxes for $15 each. So i wouldn't feel so bad if i screwed it up. But there is plenty of cheap 4x5 on ebay. Just bought 200 sheets of provia for $120.
"A world without Polaroid is a terrible place."
                                                                  - John Waters

LT

• Global Moderator
  • Self-Coat
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2011, 03:21:35 PM »