Poll

How important to you is home processing and/or printing?

It's why I'm a photographer; it's that important to me
20 (54.1%)
I do it because I prefer my results to those a lab gives me
7 (18.9%)
I do it 'cause it saves me money
5 (13.5%)
I use "instant" film
0 (0%)
I do it 'cause there's nowhere locally to do it for me
0 (0%)
No big deal for me whether I do it or a lab does it for me
2 (5.4%)
I don't know how to do it - but wish I did
0 (0%)
I don't know how to do it and I have no desire to learn
0 (0%)
I know how to do it but I don't have time / I have other priorities
3 (8.1%)

Total Members Voted: 35

Voting closed: July 11, 2014, 02:36:18 PM

Author Topic: How important to you is home processing and/or printing?  (Read 3851 times)

Late Developer

• Self-Coat
    • My Website
How important to you is home processing and/or printing?
« on: June 13, 2014, 02:36:18 PM »
I was looking at a related thread and thought it might be interesting to know how many of us are into the post photography element of our "art". 
"An ounce of perception. A pound of obscure".

Francois

• Self-Coat
Re: How important to you is home processing and/or printing?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2014, 02:57:53 PM »
Too bad there isn't a part where it says that "it relaxes me"...
When you process film you just can't have your mind worry about stuff, you must count those seconds to avoid overcooking that film.
It gives me a good 15 minutes of time off.
Francois

Film is the vinyl record of photography.

Chalky

• Sheet Film
    • Instant surf
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2014, 03:23:51 PM »
yeah or "I do it for the fun and the process, the results are normally worse than a lab would give me, but I enjoy it and it is a little cheaper and makes me shoot more B+W without worrying about the developing costs "

:-)