Author Topic: Printer suggestions  (Read 5034 times)

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
Printer suggestions
« on: December 28, 2007, 03:57:42 PM »
I'm looking for recommendations for printers. Also ink/paper combinations. Use will be mainly for monochrome images though they may be digitally toned. I prefer matt or semi matt paper.

Up until now I've only produced hard copies through a digital lab but I now want to do it myself so it's crunch time.

Any suggestions?
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

seekingfocus

• Peel Apart
  • chronic reciprocity failure.
    • Reciprocity Images
Re: Printer suggestions
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 04:29:17 PM »
I'd recommend any of the Epson line of printers. Epson inks, though some people have found good results the with the piezo inkset. I've always preferred the Epson, even for B/W.

As for which specific model, that will really just depend on the size of prints you are wanting to make and the speed/quantity.

Papers, I use hahnemuhle, but there are others. This is more of a personal preference thing I think.

-Jason

Pete_R

• Self-Coat
    • Contax 139 Resource
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 05:12:08 PM »
Thanks Jason,

I was thinking of Epson, but different models seem to use different inks. There's 'High Gloss', 'Claria' and 'K3' types. I know nothing about the differences and that doesn't help. I've heard generally good things about the K3 inks and would probably go for the R2400 just because it uses them, but it's an expensive mistake if I make the wrong choice. Hence my questions.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2007, 05:19:26 PM by monopix »
"I've been loading films into spirals for so many years I can almost do it with my eyes shut."

seekingfocus

• Peel Apart
  • chronic reciprocity failure.
    • Reciprocity Images
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 05:17:28 PM »